≡ Menu

MCI and Corruption Involving Dr. Ketan Desai: PBT Appeals to “Oversight Committee” For Immediate Removal of MCI President and Senior MCI Members for Obstruction of Justice

PBT has filed a formal complaint today with the Supreme Court appointed MCI “Oversight Committee” headed by Retd. Apex Court Justice Mr. R.M. Lodi, demanding immediate removal and appropriate disciplinary action against several top MCI members including president Dr. Jayashreeben Mehta, Ethics Committee members Dr. Ajay Kumar, Dr. Vinay Aggarwal, Dr. Sudipto Roy and Dr. K.K. Aggarwal, who is also IMA Secretary-General. These high-ranked MCI leaders have been involved with protection and deliberate promotion of disgraced ex-MCI chief, Dr. Ketan Desai, who is still waiting for his criminal trial to begin for alleged bribery and corruption since he was arrested by the CBI in April, 2010 (see PBT’s complaint below).

Using their high official position in the MCI/IMA, these doctor-members went before the World Medical Association (WMA) in 2013 and blatantly lied that all charges against Dr. Desai have been dropped by the Indian authority so he should be reinstated as the WMA president-elect (Dr. Desai was removed from WMA president-elect position following his arrest by the CBI in 2010). After PBT president lodged a complaint with the CBI, the Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO) for MCI, Mr. H.K. Jethi, investigated and held Dr. Kumar/Dr. Aggarwal/Dr. Roy guilty for unethical act and lying before the WMA to help Dr. Desai regain the post of WMA president. The CVO also directed the MCI president to take appropriate disciplinary action against against the three senior MCI members. Almost two years later, MCI president has shoved this matter under the rug and refused to take any action against the “guilty” MCI members. We hope that the Oversight Committee will take prompt action against the corrupt MCI members soon to rebuild public trust in our crumbling medical regulatory system.

Let to MCI Oversight Committee (September 2016)

Skip to toolbar