PBT Appeals To Health Minister For Removal Of 17 Doctors From New MCI Who Helped Corrupt Ketan Desai Becoming MCI President In 2009

PBT president Dr. Kunal Saha has submitted an urgent appeal with Union Health Minister, Mr. Ghulam Nabi Azad, urging the government to remove the names of 17 doctors (see the names below) who have been nominated and/or elected as members of the new MCI which is scheduled to be launched next month.  These 17 doctors were also members of the previous MCI which was dissolved in 2010 because of wide-spread corruption after then MCI president, Dr. Ketan Desai, was caught red-handed by the CBI for taking bribe from a private medical college.  On November 5, 2013, central health ministry published a list of 59 doctors who were claimed to be nominated and/or elected to the next MCI under “Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2013”.  The “Board of Governors” (BOG) which was running MCI since 2010 has already been dissolved.  The MCI secretary has also announced a general body meeting of the newly nominated/elected members on December 10, 2013 to elect the president and vice-president for the new MCI.

As Dr. Saha has categorically stated in his appeal to the Health Minister (see below), the 17 doctors who would be members of the next MCI voted to elect Dr. Desai as MCI president in 2009.  In fact, one of them (Dr. Rani Bhaskaran) actually nominated Dr. Desai for the top post in MCI in 2009.  Ironically, a new law has been introduced in the “Ordinance 2013” (Section 30-A.2g) which has stipulated that any any member whose inclusion would be “detrimental in public interest” should be removed from MCI.  Dr. Saha has pressed that apart from the moral ground, the 17 doctors must be removed from MCI under this new provision of law to restore public trust and to make MCI an honest and trustworthy medical regulatory body.

Let to Health Minister (Nov. 22, 2013) Remove MCI Members